Skip to main content

BB Allstars – Groove Oil 3

By June 16, 2012January 3rd, 2015Blog, Engineering, Music
BB Allstars - Groove Oil 3

Back in October last year, I have had the pleasure of recording a couple of tracking for funky band called the BB Allstars for their new Groove Oil 3 release.

The band comprised of Toby Baker, Ernie McKone,┬áMike Mcevoy and Jan Kincaid as the core band, and with guest appearances from Dave O’Higgins on saxophone and flute, Ed Jones on saxophone, Cammelli Hinds on vocals, Damin Brown on trumpet, Miles Bould on percussion, Mark Vandergucht on guitar and Nigel Hitchcock on saxophone.

One of the songs I recorded made it to the album – an opening track called By All Means. It’s a cover of Alphonse Mouzon excellent 1981 release. The BB Allstars give their own soulful and jazzy interpretation to the track.

Sadly I didn’t have time to take many snaps apart from a few simple ones of Jan on the drums and a shot from the control room of the band.

[nggallery id=8]

The album is full of simply brilliant, funky, jazzy, feel-good music and I highly recommend it!

Download on iTunes
BB Allstars – Groove Oil 3 is available on iTunes

Produced, Recorded and Mixed by the BB Allstars at Boogie Back and Hartland Sound, except “By All Means” which was recorded by Adam Crowe at Snap Studios.

Mastered by John Webber at Blue Pro Mastering, London.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.